ITIL is employed by some of the world’s largest organisations, including British Airways, Disney Studios, Hewlett Packard, IBM, the MOD, NASA and Shell.

ITIL focuses on the end-user rather than technology, with the aim of aligning the IT services of large, medium, and small organizations with business needs and improving the service value.  

ITIL is acknowledged as best practice for service management in organisations of all sizes and industry sectors.

Committing to the ITIL framework is a foundation for initiatives such as:

  •          DevOps
  •          Cybersecurity and Resilience
  •          The Skills Framework for the Information Age (SFIA)
  •          ISO/ IEC 2000
  •          Service Integration and Management (SIAM)

ITIL is a key enabler of Operations Excellence.

Key ITIL Facts

  • Prior to ITIL, the framework was known as GITIM: Government Information Technology Infrastructure Management’
  • ITIL is no longer an acronym and does not stand for anything
  • ITIL is used by at least 85% of UK plcs
  • Version 2 was launched in 2001, version 3 in 2007 and version 4 in 2019
  • Since 2014, ITIL has been owned by Axelos, which itself is 51% owned by Capita who paid the UK Government £300m for this stake
  • The ITIL Expert qualification was originally called the ITIL Manager’s Certificate and was launched in 1992. By the end of 2012, there were 20,000 ITIL Experts in the world
  • The ITIL Foundation certificate global pass rate is 90%
  • In 2000, ITIL was used as the basis of the Microsoft Operating Framework (MOF)